Posted on

“1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die” Book

Movies have been, and still are a large part of our culture. Movies have affected people’s lives in vastly different ways. in my life, currently spanning 20 years, I have watched many different movies, from all kinds of different genres, but I have not even come close to watching even half of the movies from the book “1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die” by Steven Jay Schneider. This book features movies from since the beginning of the 20th century, when movies were just beginning to be made, to movies that have just come out in the past few years. “1001 Movies” compiles a great list of movies that, as the title states, you must see before you die. I have made it my task, well not task, because that makes it sound not fun, but rather my goal/dream (yeah that works a little better) to see every movie within this book and I’m going to write about each and everyone one I see. I’m going to write a new post every week featuring a movie from the book. I don’t necessarily plan on going in any order, but rather just watching any movie that I happen to open the book to for that week. I have already seen about 200 of the movies from the book, but I plan on going back and seeing every movie again so it will be fresh on my mind when I write about it for that week. This is going to take a while ( It’s 1001 movies!), but I hope you will join me as we go through every single movie in this book, even the horror movies, but those might take a while for me to get to. There’s going to be movies you’ve probably never heard of and classics that you’ve watched hundreds of times, but ether way each and every single one of these movies are in this book for a reason. It’s going to be a fun and long adventure that I can’t wait to get started. Enjoy!

About steenr

Avid improviser, writer (of many different genres), and comedian. Currently, trying to make a life for myself in bringing joy to people's daily lives.

One response to ““1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die” Book

  1. Adolytsi

    Hey there!

    My name is Adolytsi, and I stumbled across your blog while doing some searches for the latest edition of the 1001 Book. Let me just tell you; in your quest and in your effort to blog through the 1001 Book, you are not alone. I’d like to invite you into a deeper world that I and many other bloggers are a part of. It’s called the 1001 Blog Club, and it aims to collect together bloggers writing about the Book and to share opinions about various films the Club assigns for viewing each week.

    Here’s the link: http://www.filmsquish.com/1001

    Each week, the Club has a film picked out by the various bloggers for the whole club to see and to share reviews of, including archives reviews of past selections. It’s a nice little community we have going, and if you’re interested, check it out and even join up if you want to.

    Also, we’ve got a wiki going at http://1001films.wikia.com with a page called The Compendium, with links to places on the internet you can find some of the harder-to-find films on the list. it’s a great resource to help you on the quest, and I suggest you bookmark both the wiki and the Blog Club site.

    Welcome aboard!
    -Adolytsi

Leave a Reply

